Alt

The Route

On Thursday September 22nd, runners will depart from Belle Fourche to begin the 437 mile nonstop, relay-style journey across the state. Tackling the ever-changing South Dakota weather and terrain, runners will connect with communities across the state as they raise awareness for mental health and funds for the South Dakota Helpline Center. The team will arrive in Sioux Falls on Sunday, September 25th to a celebratory finish line. The runners of Project 437 invite everyone to come out to run, support, and encourage them as they pass through communities along the route.

Route Map

Starting Location Center of the Nation Monument Visitor Center
Thu 09.22

9:40am MT
10:40am CT

Belle Fourche is an authentically western town founded in the late 1800s. It has a rich history full of cowboys, pioneers and cattle and sheep dynasties. It is also the Center of the Nation and the home of one of the oldest rodeo in South Dakota: the Black Hills Roundup. Belle Fourche is located on the northern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in Western South Dakota. Belle Fourche is a regional trade center for people from the surrounding three states, North Dakota, Montana and Wyoming.

Thu 09.22

2:31pm MT
3:41pm CT

Sturgis is found at the northeastern edge of Black Hills National Forest. It was founded in 1878 on a site just west of Fort Meade and was named for Lieutenant Jack Sturgis, who died with Lieutenant Colonel George Armstrong Custer at the Battle of the Little Bighorn. Sturgis is a trade center for an agricultural region producing cattle, sheep, hay, and wheat. The city is known for the annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, first held in 1938, an event that draws thousands of motorcycle fans to the city for races, cycle shows, and concerts.

Fri 09.23

1:50pm MT
2:50pm CT

Hayes is an unincorporated community in Stanley County, South Dakota. The community’s name honors John and William Hayes, early settlers.

LOCATION State Capital
Fri 09.23

7:31pm MT
8:31pm CT

Pierre was founded in 1880 as the western terminus of the Chicago and North Western Railway and named for Pierre Chouteau, Jr., a fur trader and entrepreneur. Growth was spurred by its position as a railhead for the mining industry and as a trade center for a large area, including prosperous farming and cattle country. In 1889, when South Dakota became a state, Pierre was named the temporary capital; in elections in 1890 and 1904, it was chosen the permanent capital.

Sat 09.24

12:51pm MT
1:51pm CT

Nestled in amongst the scenic Wessington Hills in Jerauld County, Wessington Springs is a community of approximately 1,000 residents. The Wessington Springs townsite was founded in 1880 and platted in 1882.This community has a restored 1905 opera house, Shakespeare Garden and nature trail.

Sat 09.24

3:25pm MT
4:25pm CT

The City of Woonsocket began in 1883 at the junction of the Chicago, Milwaukee, and Saint Paul Railroads.  The superintendent of the railroad was C.H. Prior, and named the new town Woonsocket, after his home town of Woonsocket, Rhode Island.  Lake Prior, located in the center of town, is named after Mr. Prior: “The Town with the Beautiful Lake”.

Sat 09.24

9:10pm MT
10:10pm CT

Mitchell, SD was platted in 1879 and named after Alexander Mitchell, president of the Chicago, Milwaukee, and St. Paul Railroad. Best known for being the home to the “World’s Only Corn Palace”, originally built in 1892. Each year, the Corn Palace is decorated with corn, grain, and grasses.

Sun 09.25

6:47am MT
7:47am CT

The growing community of Hartford was first settled in 1881, in part due to the railroad. Hartford petitioned to become an incorporated town in 1896.

Finishline

ENDING LOCATION The Falls
Sun 09.25

9:00am MT
10:00am CT

The village of Sioux Falls was incorporated in 1876 and became a city in March of 1889. By the turn of the century, the prairie settlement had grown into a city of more than 10,000 largely due to the arrival of the railroad in 1878. From there, the population of Sioux Falls continues to grow. Sioux Falls has a beautiful bike trail looping through the city, iconic Falls Park, and the Downtown scene with activities including art, restaurants, and music.

The Runners

Meet the Runners

Meet the Runners

This group of twelve runners is made up of South Dakota community leaders who will stop at nothing to influence and create positive change in The Mount Rushmore State. Tackling the ever-changing South Dakota weather and terrain, runners will connect with communities across the state as they raise funds and awareness for this initiative.

Runner Bios
Alt